A buller-man speaks out! “St. Vincent is homophobic!”: Floyd Prince

Floyd Prince

Yes St. Vincent is homophobic!

While I was in high school in St. Vincent, I spent most of my daily breaks at the back of the school so that I would not be harassed or fight with other students. I had former students come on to the campus to beat me, and the teacher; who is now a member of one of the leading political party turned a blind eye.

When I was in the 10/11 grade (form 4-5) I was called into the deputy head master’s office, and he offered to transfer me to another school, because according to him there were rumors that I was gay.

Growing up as a sexually ambivalent young man, as many young people are; was HELL. Because of my experience in St. Vincent, I was diagnosed with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. Many gay/bisexual men from the Caribbean get married to women, even when they know they would rather be with a man, and even when they are no longer in that environment.

I know for sure that Augustas is gay. Augustas was one of the first men I had sex with. When I moved to Miami in 1990-1991, he introduced me to the gay scene in Miami. He also reintroduced me to the scene when I returned to Miami in 1998.

During my only visit back to St. Vincent in 2011, his brother told me the details about what happened to him. The story his brother told me served as a cautionary tale to me. It reminded me of why I may not be able to live in my homeland again. Augustas’ experience buttress the stories about countless number of people I grew up with who had been killed in St. Vincent, and YES because of their sexuality.

Homosexuality in St. Vincent is a complex issue. The New York Village Voice did a piece either in the late 1990′s or early 2000′s, that captures the Caribbean gay experience like nothing I have ever seen. They researched and explained the effects of growing up gay or questioning in the Caribbean.

Floyd Prince, Los Angeles California

16 responses to this post.

  1. There is no doubt in this world that St Vincent is homophobic . Floyd Prince is not spreading any propaganda about our island we all were born and raise in. There are many people who area afraid to speak out of their sexuality and what Floyd Prince did was to open our eyes and let those who are blind and living in a delusional or denial era to see what is really happening in this island. The stigma that is attached to people who are gay is beyond recognition and while being gay is a way of life to these people they are not protected under the laws of SVG.

    There are no places where gays can hang out in SVG without harassment and under the laws of St Vincent and the Grenadines homosexualty is considered to be illegal and subjected to longterm sentences in jail. The police who should protectect citizens from any form of harassment are themselves subjected to it. Where in SVG does a gay person have freedom under the law and what measures are in place for them when they are being attacked and abused by the puclic? Can someone answer this question for me?

    This is how homophobic we are. Lately the president of the Girl Guides and the Boys Scouts Association made it inherrently and eloquently clear that he would not allowed any gay person to be learders in the Scouts and the Girl Guides association. He further stated that there were people who were gay in leadership role but they all were removed from the troops. What is this telling us ? This has justified the claim Floyd made about homophobia in St Vincent and he himself was a Scout master.
    Wake up vincentians ! Now is not the time for us to be oppressing our own people.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Not Gay but Fair on January 5, 2014 at 9:24 am

    Now you know why Canada and others are asking for bias for your nationals as a large number of gay national are falsely claiming persecution

    Reply

  3. Posted by Chad on September 30, 2013 at 8:55 pm

    Floyd and I attended secondary school together between 1979 and 1985 (this period is important in context of his position). He stood out because of his clearly effeminate tendencies. Except for a few heckling, I too cannot recall a single encounter of the kind that he described. He was very much one of our classmates.

    Floyd, I detect a high degree of dishonestly in your comments and I really don’t get the message that you are trying to convey. Of course, you would know your motives. And really, persons being killed for their ‘gayness’ In St. Vincent and the Grenadines?. Stop degrading your sovereign nation with your untruths.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Shilo on July 27, 2013 at 7:58 pm

    we don’t physically abuse gays, but we speak out against homosexuals because it is wrong..Not only to our public’s eye but especially in the sight of almighty God. It is persons like you why HIV is so rampant in our communities. Put your anus to the use for which it was made and stop using it to transfer diseases and entertain your nasty self.

    Reply

    • I am not gay or bisexual but i need to correct on the part of the transfer of HIV//, and other transmitted diseases….not only GAYS transfer these DISEASES so does BISEXUALS and STRAIGHT people oh not to forget our TOURIST…remember aAIDS was not started here in the Caribbean…just saying….this comment is not here to offend

      Reply

  5. Posted by YUHTOOLIE on May 10, 2013 at 7:36 pm

    YUH TO BLASTID LIE IS REFUGEE STATUS YUH LOOKIN FAH, I HOPE DEY FIND OUT YUH LIE N SEND YUH BACK WEH YUH COME FROM.

    GAZA!!!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Alex on May 6, 2013 at 11:48 am

    Hey Prince, I agree with you 100% am also Vincentian and had near death experience in SVG all because of my sexuality. So those who seems to be living there with blinders on and now here speaking bs.

    Please continue to tell the story many of us wish we had the strength to tell. The silent we as gay men have to live through while experiencing a life of suffering and we’re not protected by the government. Lets not speak about the PM hiring gay men as his press secretary, rumor had it that Glen Jackson was gay and he was murdered. In addition, his government continue to speak out against it. I don’t understand how vincentians can say we’re Christian state, but 95% of the births within the country was born outside of wedlock. It seems like all the fake Christians will have to return to their bible.

    Reply

  7. Posted by AP on April 12, 2013 at 2:16 pm

    Its funny how some of you don’t believe the shit that has been going and still is happening in svg,even up to this day i go back to svg and to me its still the same.Gay men today have it somewhat better but going to school there it was hard being gay,so for the few who have not got the azz beat down please dont say anything cause just like prince i was also.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Pauline Cuffy on April 1, 2013 at 9:17 am

    Floyd I commend you for having the courage to break the silence. Yes, I am quite aware of what a stifling and threatening environment St Vincent is for gay people. I’ve seen it my entire life growing up there. My cousin also experienced the same issues as you have and had to leave St Vincent as a result. I think it’s shameful that as a people who have encountered so many years of oppression, we become the oppressors of our own people. Those people who claim that gay people in St Vincent are not ostracized are either delusional or in denial. I could never imagine what your experience would have been like, but I knew how much my cousin suffered, because he could not express his sexuality. We need to start talking about these issues, we have to work towards creating a more inclusive environment, where everyone can be able to fully express themselves. The tragic thing is we profess to be a Christian state and yet we fail to apply the principles of Christ to our living experience to love and care for one another, despite our differences. If we claim to love God, then we must manifest our love for God by treating one another with respect, love and acceptance. Floyd keep on talking about these issues. You have my full support and if there is anything I can do to bring about change, please let me know. My email is demythifier@hotmail.com

    Reply

  9. Tell us about Gonsalves press secretaries, tell us about Mr Hugginsford, COOeeeeee tell us or just confirm what most of us already know.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Vexalways on March 26, 2013 at 7:21 pm

    Hey Guy, stop the bulling, your anus was not designed to take in shaft. HA!

    Reply

  11. Posted by Earlyn on March 25, 2013 at 6:01 am

    Sorry Floyd, I was in Grammar school when you were and your story just isn’t true. If someone from outside came to beat you up, it is because of something that happened outside of school.
    To blame that teacher is totally outrageous as that sort of bullying never took place in the Classroom. In effect what you are trying to do is blame every teacher at the St Vincent Grammar school for your life style. Please save us with the feel sorry for me passing the book crap.
    So many gays went to Grammar School and you are the only one they chose to transfer? Fool ah tark but not Jack ass ah read.
    Gays have been rampant in St Vincent for years from Aunty pim pim to a few that are now deceased and I cannot recall hearing anyone being physically abused in St Vincent because of their sexuality. Abuse took the form of verbal expletives, so wheel and come again.
    One of St Vincents’ most popular/common gay men was a friend to practically every Vincentian regardless to how homophobic they were.

    Reply

  12. Posted by john john on March 23, 2013 at 3:57 pm

    This man is chatting a bunch of foolishness. The biggest “bullerman” in svg and many others like him walk the streets unhindered every day for years. This guy prince is ridiculous beyond belief.

    Reply

  13. Doesn’t the PM only employ gay press secretaries? That is what I was told, is it true?

    Reply

  14. Posted by Mark Duncan on March 22, 2013 at 7:56 pm

    Who is this guy?

    Reply

  15. Posted by sandra browne on March 22, 2013 at 6:25 pm

    what the hell is this man trying to say?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

