Sen Anesia Baptiste: The Most Outstanding Parliamentarian in SVG for 2011

Hon Senator Anesia Baptiste

Hon Senator Anesia Baptiste

After just one year as a Member of Parliament in St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Hon Senator Anesia Baptiste has been named by Vinci Kallaloo as the most outstanding Member of the House of Assembly.

Anesia Baptiste was appointed to the parliament as a senator for the New Democratic Party on the opposition benches following the party’s loss in the general elections of December 13, 2010.

Immediately following her appointment she began to impress. In the debates of the Estimates, the Appropriations Bill and several other bills and resolutions, Senator Baptiste performed with an alacrity that belied her years. She has been virtually unmatched for her depth of research, grasp of the issues and her eloquence of expression. Furthermore, despite being the target of unfair treatment from the Speaker and irritating jabs from government members, Sen Baptiste has been able to keep her cool, her focus and her dignity.

Sen Baptiste has also acquitted herself exceptionally well outside of Parliament. Using her TV program “Serving the People” and her column “Persistent Scrutiny”, Sen Baptiste has taken on a number of hot issues and in the process helped dozens of persons. She has also indicated her interest in West St. George for the next election.

For her performance in and out of the House, Vinci Kallaloo names Hon Senator Anesia Baptiste as the Most Outstanding Member of Parliament for 2011.

Sen Baptiste seated in Parliment

Sen Baptiste seated in Parliment

19 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by CJ on May 3, 2012 at 3:45 am

    what do we have to say now that her true colours have been exposed?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Saadiss on January 3, 2012 at 5:49 am

    Mouth Wide Open, if I am to understand you, you believe in the pacifist ethic to TURN THE OTHER CHEEK. You believe Christians should not be repeating insulting words used by others and should refrain from responding in kind when insulted, as such worldly action only diminish ones spiritual strength.

    So are you saying Anesia and her acolytes should be PACIFIST in the face of unrelenting abuse and to endure the persecution to the bitter end?

    Well good for you…but I believe Anesia and her acolytes believe in Ezekiel 25:17, the Samuel.L.Jackson Version:

    The path of the righteous man is beset on all sides by the inequities of the selfish and the tyranny of evil men. Blessed is he, who in the name of charity and good will, shepherds the weak through the valley of darkness, for he is truly his brother’s keeper and the finder of lost children. And I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those who would attempt to poison and destroy my brothers. And you will know my name is the Lord when I lay my vengeance upon thee.

    Reply

    • Posted by Mouth Still Wide Open on January 3, 2012 at 11:07 pm

      I made it absolutely clear that already they have spoken in Parliament and on the Platforms so its time now to leave it in Gods hand, hence the end of your quote… ” And you will know my name is the Lord when I lay my vengeance upon thee:, additionally the same Bible says this in comparison with the advice I was given look for your self… ” “Anesia Baptiste
      Contrary to what you have suggested the Devil would not want to have his evils exposed so he would rather we ignore them in the name of “forgiving and forgetting” as you have suggested, so he can have free reign to deceive the people over a…nd over by the evils he causes men to do”.

      and this is what the Bible stated, “2 Corinthians 2:10-12 Amplified Bible (AMP)
      10If you forgive anyone anything, I too forgive that one; and what I have forgiven, if I have forgiven anything, has been for your sakes in the presence [and with the approval] of Christ (the Messiah), 11To keep Satan from getting the advantage over us; for we are not ignorant of his wiles and intentions”. When we forgive is when we keep Satan from taking reing over us not keep on remembering the hatred… That was my point why would you want to remind Vincentians to “remember” words that hurt them? Instead we ought to show them love, help the poor and remind them of those good deeds and the power of our Lord and Saviour not of our selves not of our Political parties, because Vengeance is the Lords, its Him who chooses and removes leaders and even if we see things different my quote was not in any way a lie, it came from the Bible and not from myself…

      Reply

      • Posted by Mouth Still Wide Open on January 3, 2012 at 11:26 pm

        You know i read your comment over and over again, your good really good, wow never really look at it from this angle…

  3. Posted by Mouth Still Wide Open on January 3, 2012 at 2:46 am

    Now is this the behaviour a Christian brother who just came from His Sabbath should carry on with to another believer in Christ? This was posted on my wall late “Saturday” night 31 Decemeber2011 on FB… ” Is this religious freedom?
    Shefflorn Ballantyne posted on your Wall.
    “What will do you best for this new year Ashley, is to read what Mrs. White said about the Sabbath in the very books you conveniently quote. Its a new year to mature…its amazing how you display such blatant hypocrisy on Donna’s wall where she refers to us a dangerous vipers…you do not think of “correcting” her. You are not a minister of Christ. You have not accepted the correction you received because of your own petty malice over an event in the past between you and the NDP. Change your ways and give up your malice…your hypocrisy is blantant for all to see…moreso it is offensive in the eyes of God. “

    Reply

  4. Posted by Mouth Still Wide Open on January 3, 2012 at 2:42 am

    Yes it went on and on…

    Ashley John
    Ok let me make it very simple, when we remind people of the wrongs people do us” PM” and we say to them keep it real dont let them forget, are we not teaching them to hold onto past hurts? Jesus was insulted I did not see you refer to that …part its also there… i did not make up that passage, are you saying that part is wrong then? we should never be saying to people do not forget the wrongs people do us, our message should be as Christ did was to “LOVE” and forgive” and prayer for each other, it dont mean we be foolish in our future choices, you know people and have you not seen how many died and got hurt from protest etc started from very same did Jesus do that? Would Jesus Do that to PM? You guys have already spoken out in Parliament and on platforms, now its time to leave it in God’s hand and prayer for the people and help the poor etc, no need to keep this bashing each other over and over and over and over.. people dont need that, they need solutions and guidance.. yet when the opportunity was there to help for FREE, I was rejected… with pure lame excuses but every single word PM says you guys lash onto and push it strong strong, what about pushing as a one person to get some holistic workshops to help the young people also? I am not here to judge but to say as the word says stop teaching people hatred, the people are not dumb in Gods time things will change… one way or the other.

    Anesia Baptiste
    Ashely, no,no, no, no, no! Stop telling lies and misrepresenting people here! Nobody is advocating that people hol don to hurts, nobody is teaching people hatred. Did you read the PM’s christmas message? Do you want to tell me that because …someone reflects on it and points out how hypocritical he is that is advocating hatred? that is advocating people must hold on to hurts to tell them they must not forget that bad behavior and be fooled by the nice words used during festive season to blind their eyes? Some minister of God you are! I have to speak strong like this to you because you need a shake up. what you are oding here is calling a good work evil and calling an evil work good (by in fact bashing the good work). You should be joining in condeming the hypocrisy and the attempt to deceive vincentians by this politician who holds the highest office of the day. You are allowing yourself to be used, not by God, to instead speak evil against the people who are pointing out the wrong-the very wrong that has enslaves our people over time-th eevil tendency of politicians to treat people bad then turn around and fool them with words. Ignore that and the people will get caught again. Continually remind them and show them and perhaps some will get eventually see. Who bashed the PM here? To refer to his words and call them by their rightful name is bashing? To call that bashing is to expose your poor judgment and it is woeful. You are calling our love for the people, by defending them against deceit-hate? you are calling it teaching hatred? Are you sick in your mind or something? You offered to come to SVg to do free training for young people? Are you sure there was no cost? And even so, can I as one person dictate and decide that you must come? I belong to an organisation. Get a grip of yourself and stop allowing your malice over disappointments blind your eyes to proper judgment on a different matter man!

    Shefflorn Ballantyne
    I think you answered well, Anesia Baptiste . For 2012 we need to continue to teach the people how to see beyond the deceptions and tricks. The Prime Minister is Blasphemous in his behaviour and as a Christian, I will have none of it. Christ… set the example and when we read the bible without personal grudges but with a genuine interest in the truth we will find how to live as a Christian in this sinful environment. I love the Prime Minister, and will share the entire article on facebook soon, from my status update is just one paragraph. To remain silent in the presence is evil is not love, but hatred…hatred for the perpetrators of the evil and for the victims who suffer under such evil”

    Ashley John
    I will ask you and Anesia Baptiste, this question one more time, when the scripture said in 1 Peter 2:23 that JESUS himself whom was insulted, did not insult back, did not offer any form of revenge, but instead turn it all over to Almighty …God, is the BIBLE lying, Did I lie in quoating such? Did I say its saying evil is good, did it deserve me being called liar, Immature, unskilled, hasty, out of my mind, foolish? IS that Christ Like behaviour in love, even if you felt I had a different view of the Bible than you all is this the way you teach me the right way? I do not condone the behaviour of the PM when he uses this type of language, my suggestion was to do as Christ himself did… you guys have spoken out every single day in Parliament on platforms etc… so dont make it seems as if I am saying to keep it quiet, my point was you have spoken out now leave it to Almighty God, stop bringing back up the past hurts over and over and over… is that bad or unGodly advice… when I agreed in th epast to other methods it was quite ok but now I say do it different as the bible says I am called the worst names possile and you say its the right way to answer? then we want to look at the Pm and say he is insultive… are we any different? I will surely like to place all these responses in a note and send it to the media and to the public of SVG and even here on FB and let them see for themselves, and let me hear from other Christians if this is the behaviour Jesus Christ say we must get on with… as I said from beginning I will say again its pot calling the kettle balack, I ve seen other post where I did not agree on both sides I never once refer to no one in such terms I simply gave my views and end it there… This surely has hit home for me and I am not gonna sit here and pretend because I was not expecting this sort of behaviour from one who is learnt and one who suppose to do all things in Love… even referring to me calling myself a “minister”, thats a very low blow amongst Christians because Paul himself said do not judge any one for they religious beliefs etc, and we all are given different gifts, but God knows my heart and He is always the final judge… you guys need to be reminded you are not God, its not your place to fight with the PM, the battle is the LORDS… Everything God allows is for a reason allow God to do his work… UNITY is needed in Government not this constant fighting every single day… Jesus reprimanded the Pharasees because they question his Ministry, and he could have seen the “Christians \ Followers ‘ were misleading people.. note the Christians.. He never fought with Roman Government Never… Because he knew God’s Government was what was important as Earthly Government is only temporary… He did not respond to every single thing people said against him… I really expected better, I have no problem with us disagreeing but to take it to this level sounds same like how PM behaves always make people feel he the only one who got wisdom and this is verey same behaviour here, all of us have different interpretations of scripture and that started from acient times, even Jesus said you dont even believe I am the Messiah… but as I say thanks I sure deserve it because i should have kept far from Politics its all a mess and filled with lots of deceit… so I deserve what I got from this post…

    Reply

  5. Posted by Mouth Still Wide Open on January 3, 2012 at 2:34 am

    This is some of the excerpts from the entire conversation used to me, Minister Ashley John, since I will not with hold my name any further… now when i listen to the youtube video on Freedom for Independence I really have to ask myself lots of questions…
    Anesia Baptiste wrote “You should do better as someone who calls himself a minister. This weak representation of Christianity from you makes a mockery of Christians and Christ’s religion and I am glad it is not the truth. It will pay you much better to learn that the love of God is not afraid to openly rebuke wrong too and that it doesn’t forbid Christians from pointing out wrong in politicians too. It will also pay you well to learn to read carefully and judge properly with the Spirit of truth and not your own misguided standards which misrepresent the Savior Jesus Christ.S Anesia Baptiste
    Contrary to what you have suggested the Devil would not want to have his evils exposed so he would rather we ignore them in the name of “forgiving and forgetting” as you have suggested, so he can have free reign to deceive the people over a…nd over by the evils he causes men to do. It is Christ who came to deliver from deceit cause he said ye shall know the truth and the truth shall make you free.
    Anesia Baptiste
    What writing to us and offering “holistic ideas” and “stop onslaught’ are you referring to cause I know nothing about that eh. The Holy Spirit is the Spirit of truth and I know that the way you are presenting love here is misrepresenting th…e truth of God’s word. Nowhere in the Bible does it say that love does not rebuke and chasten, that love does not rebuke openly…in fact it says open rebuke is better than secret love. Also, you need to stop being hasty and immaturely and unskillfully using the scripture to wrongfully accuse of evil those who are doing good for the people. There is no Christian rule or law against what Shefflorn has said and done and none against my support of what he did either. It is all in your head. What would you say of Jesus? All Shefflorn did was repeat what the PM said and made a commentary (if you reading properly) about how hypocritical he is and what he has taught his labour supporters to be”
    Ashley John
    ok thanks very much that I am unskillful and immature and hasty.. so I made up 1 Peter 2 vs 23.. so I did not write 4 Ministers in the NDP including a copy sent to your self ref one day seminars? Thank God you guys are skillful etc, but i c…hoose to remain foolish because same God uses the foolish to conform the wise… have you not just done very same thing u accuse the PM of? use insulting language to me? but Paul said do not find it strange the fiery trials you will encounter… I pray one day you will step down off your EGO- Edge Out God and sit down and reverence yourself,It appears no one can say ok this one I do not agree with? I have always supported most of your stance public also that of the NDP, but you see if we trust God long enough he opens our ears and eyes… keep attacking the PM… If I was to take same stance I would post copy of all emails including one sent to you right here but nope… I will not, revenge is for God… I will take my place, out of my Hands and Into God’s will… grace, love and Peace..
    Anesia Baptiste
    Ashley, are you listening to yourself. You said u wrote to the PM offering holistic ideas and to stop the onslaught and said you did it to us also. When I replied asking what writing and saying I know not of that it is true, cause I was nev…er addressed on any issues of stopping onslaught. You made suggestings of workshops etc yes but I am one man and cannot make decisions to accept your proposal for a workshop etc on my own. If you were disappointed about response in that area, so be it but don’t go giving the impression here that I Anesia Baptiste ever refused good suggestions from you. You yourself have commended me publicly on work I have done in community and to help/serve the people. What really is your issue now? What EGO did I have then? Just because I disagree with your false and yes immature and unskillful use of the scripture? How is that insulting when it is true? Let me show you how it is true!

    Anesia Baptiste
    Firstly I am speaking to you here as Anesia Baptiste adressing your use of scripture, not as NDP-a political party. So when I said you showed lack of skill and immaturity it was with reference to your use of scripture to judge the post of S…hefflorn Ballantyne. You used a scripture that shows Christians how to be in persecution for Christ’s sake. True, Jesus when he was reviled, did not revile again, he didn’t take up weapons and fight etc. He remained sin-free in his words (no guile in his mouth) and behavior. Now, I say you used that scripture wrongly because shefflorn did not break what Christ said. he cited the evil statements of Dr. Gonsalves in the recent past and compared them to his recent nice sounding words in his Christmas message. He reminded the people in his own style that this is the habit of this politician and they must not be fooled, it is just a game being played”

    Ashley John
    BTW I said “instead of the onslought” because I could have decided to go to Him with all the hate and bitterness, becuse I do not agree with his language either… I was lead to do opposite… turn the other cheek… Yes the Bible teaches o…pen rebuke, and it also gives a formula for open rebuke… When Jesus came He removed all of those practices with “Grace” and Love”… remeber it was him who said love your neighbour as yourself etc…

    Reply

  6. Posted by Saadiss on December 29, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    Lesli Patterson named Mrs Baptiste as one of the three most dangerous people in the NDP…now Vincikallaloo is telling me, this same Mrs Baptiste, is the most outstanding parliamentarian in SVG. Welcome to Vincy politics 101..

    For the record, I have stated my support for Mrs Baptiste in other forums, to be the first female PM…however, such support is tempered with the acknowledgement, that Mrs Baptiste is NOT READY FOR PRIME TIME…at the moment. I think she needs more time to craft a political philosophy; at the moment, her doctrine is heavily leaned towards a religious philosophy and that cannot work in a democratic state as SVG.

    Things are bad in Vincyland…but A THEOCRACY IS OUT OF THE QUESTION.

    Reply

    • Posted by The watcher on December 29, 2011 at 10:28 pm

      To me it seems like its stupid season, like it out. I have listen to Senator Baptiste, even before the referendum saying what is her political philosophy and that is the Protection of all the rights and freedoms of all. she once call it (her political philosophy) Democratic Republicanism. She had also show over and over again that Government should make no law to prevent people from exercising these freedoms and rights, and that includes those that concern religion. She has always express that government should not make laws to set up a religion or prevent one from coming into existence because it a matter between man and his God. So to accuse the lady of Theocracy is wrong, lame and foolish since her Political Philosophy will not allow for that , it totally against such in our democratic state. so do like the Senator and do some in depth research before you talk.

      Reply

      • Posted by Saadiss on December 30, 2011 at 5:16 pm

        Hey watcher, yo slip showing…put up your discourse. I am quite aware the prospect of a THEOCRACY taking root in SVG is near to impossible. But I am not backing down from my assertion…All I am saying, if Anesia has aspirations to be the leader of SVG..she has to put her religious convictions in the background and not to the forefront as she is presently doing…it is her religious conviction that is driving her political ambition; and that in the long run cannot jell well with the stark political realities.

        It is all well to speak of rights and freedoms..but governing is more than just rights and freedoms. And truth be told, RIGHTS AND FREEDOMS ARE THE LEAST OF VINCENTIANS CONCERN…I can tell you this right now, if Anesia is to run in the next election on the platform OF PREACHING HER THUSIAN DOCTRINE,.SHE CAN KISS HER POLITICAL ASPIRATIONS GOODBYE.

        Don’t worry my friend, it is because I have done “in depth research” why I can state my case with some sense of conviction. Speaking of research, have you done yours?

        ” It is our position that the phrase “separation of church and state” is not the best structure of terms to use but according to the First Amendment of the American constitution “Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion”, religion must not be legislated. Thus “separation of religion from legislation” is our institute’s preferred choice of terms. Since religion is a matter of mind and conscience government has no business legislating any religious dogma or practice or legislating against the free and full exercise of any religious dogma and practice. This does not mean that governments cannot encourage religious practices of their choice. Government’s endorsement, encouragement or support of religion does not amount to establishing religion by legislation.”

        Is this the Democratic Republicanism, you speak of?…so let me get this straight, the Government will not LEGISLATE RELIGION BUT THEY ARE FREE TO ENCOURAGE, ENDORSE AND SUPPORT A RELIGION OF THEIR CHOICE?..LAWD HAV MERCY PUT AH HAND!!…I rest my case.

  7. Posted by Mouth Still Wide Open on December 29, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    I was one who felt too that it was impressive until I disagreed on a stance, the languaged used to me by Sen. Baptiste and the terms she described me as for simply quoting 1 Peter 2 vs 23, is really food for thought. I believe now power and education has surely gotten to her head and as I ask her step back and know she is No GOD, and humble herself, its sad what Politics do to people really sad… I am so dissapointed by the language used, but I agreed not to publish it to become like them… It makes no sense criticising the PM for using insultive language then you turn around and do very same, thats surely pot calling the kettle black… I wonder honestly how the public of svg would feel seeing the contents of that conversation, my mouth is still open especially as a person who publicy supported her on several initiatives… but I will not condone no one keeping people filled up with hatred especially a christian at that, its not Godly… who tell me say so… out of my hands into God’s will…

    Reply

    • Posted by The watcher on December 29, 2011 at 9:53 pm

      @Mouth Still Wide Open or should i say minister Ashley John, if you are both and the same person, i read the discussion on facebook on shefflorn page,you come on this forum and it was easy to make a connection
      . You did not simply quoted 1peter 2 vs 23. you were accusing shefflorn of being like the Pm thats is using inslutive words to describe others. what shefflorn was simply doing is being critical of the Pm’s Christmas message. He did not insult no one. All the senator did was to prove that your were using the bible text wrongly, but you did not want to see that, which was evident for all to see. And yes you were lying,so she was right to say so. and i am saying you are a very vindictive, bitter person. that how sound now and thats how u are now. Anybody who is interesting in the truth, go on face book on shefflorn ballantyne page his post starts with “Love and good neighbourliness, Labour style,” and see what i am saying. God will punish you for this, this is the height of wickedness.

      Reply

    • Posted by The watcher on December 29, 2011 at 9:55 pm

      The senator show you up now you vex.

      Reply

    • Posted by Saadiss on December 29, 2011 at 10:24 pm

      Hey MSWO, I guess Mrs Baptiste doesn’t subscribe to Isiah 53:7.

      I hate when folks accuse others of certain action but yet CANNOT STATE WHAT SUCH ACTION ENTAILS. If you were to go the the courts with a complaint, that some one made offensive language to you, well the court would need to know what the offending language is,to render a judgement, right? So why the phuck are you coming to the court of public of opinion and accusing someone of offending you but refuse to state exactly the nature of this offense? Do you see where I am coming from MSWO? What did Mrs Baptiste say to you that is so repugnant, that you can’t bring yourself to repeat it?

      MSWO, I believe you are a Anesia HATER and you got put in your place for talking smack to Mrs Baptiste, C’mon speak the truth…and what “stance” did you disagree with Mrs Baptiste? Why are you being so elusive in your sniping, are you that AFRAID OF MRS BAPTISTE? Are you scared that Mrs Baptiste will figure out who you are and come looking for you, with more choice words? MSWO, ARE YOU A PUNK? GROW A PAIR OR PUT ON YOUR BIG GIRL PANTIES…and stop with this pussyfooting…

      Again, Mouth Still Wide Open, what did Mrs Baptiste say to you, that had you so agape like a little choir boy on his knees before a catholic priest?

      Reply

      • Posted by Mouth Still Wide Open on January 3, 2012 at 2:08 am

        You wanted too see the contents see for yourself… I have absolutely no reason to hate Sen. Anesia Baptiste or any one else… I have always been in support of Anesia Efforts in the community, and boldly so in public, I have the right to disagree with the method and i was not once disrespectful to none of them… Is this not my freedom of religious liberty? Is this not my right of expression, is this the way you respond to a citizen a potential voter, a brother in the body of Christ? Jesus said forgive 70×7, why do we need to keep vincentians reminded of hateful hurtful words, is that love and encouragement? What is meant by we must not let the people forget? Why would me a christian want to tell another oh remember these types of words? Especially after a year marred by such violence and tension…

        Shefflorn Ballantyne
        Love and good neighbourliness, Labour style, also means cussing the neighbor stink. Tell him he is a “nasty dutty dawg”. A servant boy, a yam bow, an idiot boy, a snotty nose gal, a windbag, dotish, untutored and uncultured, jackass in lion skin, dry head girl, NDP donkey, a cocobay, a Gad fly, dunce, a cococut bat, go away a girl and come back a boy, useless, malignant, refugee, lowest common denominator, minority rump, of the chattering class. Yes, cuss dem, then say that you are calling for “an individual and national cleansing, redemption and reconciliation”. Yes, then cuss dem again! Next year, repeat the same theme of love and good neighbourliness. And during the year? Well, tell half of the Vincentian population its “labour time” and we have to wait until next election to try and “high-fall” you. Until then, they have to eat grass…no road wuk foh dem! And while you cussing, run to parliament to remove the restrictions placed on your mouth during election time by the Representation of the People’s Act. Oh yes…and further, keep your gang well paid…name your prized supporters “consultants” and roll out contracts to them and have some of them on radio cussing daily. Never mind the poor and elderly. Just give them talk…a smile and an occasional hug.

        Anesia Baptiste keeping it real bro. Shefflorn. We must never let the people forget.

        Ashley John
        this is the one time I will say, pot calling the kettle black… no no no, we as follwers of Jesus Christ are NOT to promote such… this is what the Bible says… 1 Peter 2:21-23 Amplified Bible (AMP) 21For even to this were you called [it… is inseparable from your vocation]. For Christ also suffered for you, leaving you [His personal] example, so that you should follow in His footsteps.22He was guilty of no sin, neither was deceit (guile) ever found on His lips.23When He was reviled and insulted, He did not revile or offer insult in return; [when] He was abused and suffered, He made no threats [of vengeance]; but he trusted [Himself and everything] to Him Who judges fairly… have you lost sight of the higher ‘spiritual calling”
        December 27 at 11:37am

  8. Posted by The watcher on December 28, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    I totally agree. She has indeed proven to be so.

    Reply

  9. Posted by vin jobe on December 28, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    100% True, even thou she does not have the finances to do a lot she are doing more that the government ministers who have the treasury for them self. keep doing what you do best Sen Anesia Baptiste, helping the poor!

    Reply

  10. Posted by John on December 28, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    Yea right. I am more convinced now that the owners of this site are not taking there crazy pills.

    Reply

  11. I concur with this. totally agree.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

