WHY I WILL NOT RELAX By Vynnette Frederick

Sen Vynnette Frederick

A friend of mine told me to relax today. They probably felt that I was sounding a bit vitriolic in a response to their suggesting that I talk about government policy and not express my opinion that the Prime Minister erred in accepting LIBYAN BLOOD MONEY two weeks ago…I decided to give a sense of what I see everyday in this place…and this is how I responded.

Let me paint you a picture. I get death threats every day, I see poverty increasing, people literally starving, crime rising, suffering at my door step, (old people hungry and falling down) no employment, a healthcare system that is crappy (ol’ people sick and suffering), unmotivated people, frightened people who remember what it was like when they could speak out and say what was on their mind, silenced now because to talk is to become an enemy of the state.

I see a fractured police force, demoralized teachers and a depressed population with a failed economy, no opportunity, wild zealots inciting violence and making calls for people to be killed on political party radio stations in order to guard what money it is they are squeezing from the almost dead goose that is our Country/Treasury, a crippled business sector, NO MONEY in the country.

 I have a mark on my shin where the imbecile stood on it two weeks ago, when I touch it,  it pains, I still have black and blue marks that are fading, a father who is charged before the court for assault when he was the victim of an assault by the Police, a colleague sitting in hospital deciding on whether to allow them to do surgery on his spine.

 I see a justice system in which no one has confidence, and I most markedly DO NOT see the Church speaking out on the emotional and spiritual health and wellbeing of the nation….If I was one of those who could put on blinders, then maybe in all of this I would be able to relax, but forgive me. I cannot!

This was first posted on facebook as a note.

23 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Laybah Hag on April 7, 2011 at 9:56 am

    Quite a gruesome picture. The definition of exaggeration, don’t you think?

    Reply

    • Posted by Al on April 7, 2011 at 1:57 pm

      Vynette the same Amajero company that you guys say will ONLY work with an NDP adminitration is now having talks with the ULP. what do you have to say on that? It must have been a slap in the face of the NDP when on a day when they are dmonstrating , Mr Michall came up from Bequia, did not even peep on the protest, did not tell Mr Eustace anything but organised a meeeting with himslf, his daughter and Amajero….Guess when he saw the protess by the NDP his thought was ” ENOUGH…NO MORE:…

      Reply

  2. Posted by progressive woman on March 29, 2011 at 10:11 am

    You really cant relax now Vynette. Not after that overwhelming support for the ULP in Kingstown yesterday.

    Reply

  3. Posted by me on March 22, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    Vincent how can you claim that i am doing the same thing as Vynnnet?. I said our country WAS ( past tense) the poorest in the western hemisphere in the NDP. That is a fact..I got my info from the same source you got yours.

    Vynettee claims that the poor people are dying on her door steps . THAT IS A LIE..Poor people are better off now than under any other administrtion.

    She said that teachers are demoralised. THAT IS A LIE..Teachers have more opportunity to develop themselves and their salaries are the best it has ever been.

    She say people are starving here. THAT IS A LIE. but even in the great USA people are starving and homeless so what is her point.

    She say there in no employment. THAT IS A LIE..Employment percentages is at one of the lowest it has ever been

    She said people are afraid to talk. THAT IS A LIE..NICE radio allows anyone with a voice who HATRES Ralph to say the worst things about him and that radio is stil allowed to broadcast unlike what was done in the NDP time.

    She said people are demotivated…THAT IS A LIE..there is no proof of that

    Most of what she said is a LIE and is damaging to MY country. But you are afraid to say she is wrong . You are the worst kind of friend. A freind who can see you going down the wrong raod and alowed you to do same is the worst kind of enemy.

    Reply

    • Posted by KS784 on March 23, 2011 at 9:34 am

      “Employment percentages is at one of the lowest it has ever been”- I think you’re supporting her here so why say “…THAT IS A LIE..”?.

      Reply

    • Posted by Vincent Charles on March 23, 2011 at 7:25 pm

      Again you seem to have no pause (or shame for that matter) in dispensing false fact-like statements. THERE IS NO IMF DOCUMENT WHICH PROVES THAT SVG WAS THE SECOND POOREST CARRIBEAN COUNTRY… NONE! YOU LIE!

      Secondly, the senator, literary or not, has never claimed that persons are dying on her doorstep. THE ARTCICLE IS DIRECTLY ABOVE…SHOW ME WHERE! YOU LIE!

      My teacher friends all lament about the quality of students they receive and the frustration they face on a daily basis. The education revolution while have many positive elements, is unfunded! I used to buy bourbon biscuits for $0.25 per unit, now they are $0.50, water is up, taxes, custom duties and other fees, salaries in SVG cannot compete with the high cost of living.

      Listen “me”, I defer to the NIS chairman when he recently commented on the state of Vincentian unemployment. I also give deference to my eyes, as I observe thousands of youths, all over the country parading up and down with nothing to do…. My girlfriend calls it the “perpetual fashion show in KT”…. YOU LIE!

      Independent persons can speak; Nice radio after all, is a privately owned entity. If you work for the government, or depend on them for critical services such as “poor relief” or any social assistance, you better shut up or risk being fired or denied services.

      You and I just do not see things alike, its not even parallel or analogue, its a complete binary.

      What I am going to say however, is that whereas the young senator should not be afraid to defend her principles, and whereas she should not abandon her uniquely refreshing modus operandi, she ought to be more mindful of being too literary, in her language and antics.

      Reply

      • Posted by me on March 23, 2011 at 8:49 pm

        Vincent, i started to rebutt every thing you claimed then i changed my mind because i realise you are a waste of my precious time.. I MUST say this however,,,the Bottom Line is that we are far better off now than we have ever been. The entire world is going through a global recession so there are going to cut-backs all over and little st vincent is not immune to that. However,if you ask most vincentins living here and abraod they will admit that we are definately enjoying a far better standard of life now and that YOU KNOW IS A FACT

      • Posted by Al on March 23, 2011 at 9:15 pm

        Vincent do you know the pledge of SVG? I think Vynnette is dogging out MY country and showing very little loyalty and devotion in what she wrote. Many members of the NDP behave like they dont love their country and that is just sad. They paint it to be a horrible place with little regard of the negative and long lasting impact.

      • Posted by Vincent Charles on March 24, 2011 at 6:55 pm

        Your master said far worse when he was in opposition…….

      • Posted by no nonsense on March 25, 2011 at 12:39 pm

        ME, Vincent said that none of us could convinced him, so what do you expect. He only listens to what he wants to hear. He is such a fool, let him stay dotish for the rest of his life. We on the other hand know what you are saying is nothing but the truth. They all will one day come before the Most High to answer for all the false statements they are pushing just for political reason. Toney Asterphan was so correct “The NDP are suffering with LOPS- Loss Of Power Syndrome”!!!!!!LABOUR TIME!!!!

  4. Posted by Vincent Charles on March 21, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    Things in SVG is getting pretty bad, pretty fast……this is not conjecture this is fact. Already, we see the gov borrowing over 3 mil usd, and a further 20 mil…..the year just began, a budget freshy presented with indication of funding etc. The Government is brokes… none ah you can convince me otherwise……

    Reply

    • Posted by me on March 21, 2011 at 9:22 pm

      Vincent you claim that things in St Vincent are getting pretty bad, pretty fast and you say that is a fact. Wake up my freind, that is YOUR OPINION..if you asked most people on this site they wont agree with you hence it is no fact. You live pretty comfortably so quit complainig.

      I have been hearing the government it broke for years yet we see visible signs of progress and that my friend is a FACT. but as you said no one can convince you otherwise so I will leave you in your dark world. You are the epitome of the guy who said ” I have made up my mind so dont confuse me with the facts”….stay miserable in your ignorance Vincent

      Reply

      • Posted by Vincent Charles on March 26, 2011 at 5:45 am

        Gonsalves met a 500 mil bedt it took 17 years to accumulate (a portion of which was inhereited from Old labour) in just ten he has transformed 500 mil to 1.7 bil….that explains why we broke..if you brokes, you borrow…..

  5. Posted by Tailyar on March 21, 2011 at 10:04 am

    I don’t understand the hatred. Why is it that persons have a problem with Vynette expressing her view point? Since when are we clones that need to follow the same tune. Decidedly I applaud people that have something to say and is not afraid to express their position.

    Reply

    • Posted by Al on March 21, 2011 at 9:13 pm

      Tailyar no one hates Vynnette and no one has an issue with her exprexsing her views. What we have an issue with is her painiting our blessed island to be so horrible just because they lost the election. We have a problem with her blatently lying and making false claims. What we have a problem with is a person aspiring to the highest office in the land and showing such poor judgement on so many issues. What we HATE is her trying to destroy our country for her selfish , political gain.

      Reply

  6. Posted by no nonsense on March 19, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    Vynnette, you are such a big fool. You have lost all credibility since I first heard you on a microphone some years ago outside the parliament. You have now confirmed it by walking down the stairs of parliament, lying down on the ground and telling lies saying you were thrown down the stairs.

    Reply

  7. Posted by progressive woman on March 19, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    You couldn’t put it better “Me”. What the hell is wrong with Vynette? Is she living on Mars? Let me tell you this madam… I AM A TEACHER AND I AM NOT DEMORALIZED so know your damn place. As teachers we have never had it so good. Go back in time Vynette and find out what our salaries were like under NDP. Find out also how many of us have been able to retool under the ULP (I AM A LIVING EXAMPLE) You are employing defence mechanisms to protect yourself Vynette. Actually, you are at level 2 of Vaillant’s categorization of defence mechanisms—YOU ARE AN IMMATURE, SPOILT RUDE LYING ……

    Reply

  8. Posted by Al on March 19, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    Vynette, I am a proud vincentian who love my country and would defend it fiercely and I cant believe that you would so carelessly write such untruths about my beloved country. Have your politcal view, support whatever party you want but please stop trying to make my country look like the scum of the earth. How dare you want to be a leader in my country when you want to paint it to the outside world like a pig pen.? How dare you?

    No employemnt Vynette???????…..Old people suffering at your door steps?????………….frightened people who are afriad to talk?….A friend of mine who is from Canada read your article and wondered what kind of crap for a country we have. I had to go on the defensive and explain why you seem so bitter and angry. Your rantings are destroying the image of St. Vincent Vynette. Cant you express your views without trying to paint my country so badly
    .

    Vynette I know you dont like the government but please show some national pride. The NDP wants to run the country but the kind of information you guys are putting out there is down right destructive to my country. Please be a bit more responsible and place your frustration where it should go.

    I know the government is not perfect but am sure they are doing a few things right. Please stop making my beloved country to look like a dump. Stop the lies please

    Reply

  9. Posted by me on March 18, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    Miss, in which country are you now residing?. surely you could not be speakig about lovey St vincent and the Grenadines. You talk about poverty. when YOUR party was in power St Vincent was 2nd to Haiti as the poorest country in the western hemisphere.

    What do you mean you cant talk freely?…are you kidding me?.. NICE radio, on which you are a frequent guest, bad talks the govenment 24/7. Do you remember when the NDP was in power they shut down the programme ” searchlight”…the Pm now wont even bother to try to do anything so assinine because he believes in true democray.

    Miss, ALL public servants are given 100% loan to get house and land. salaries have increased 4 times since the ULP got there. There over 400 graduate teachers in the primary schools alone…there were only a few that i can count on my hands when the NDP was there.

    Your party use to give poor people 50 dollars pendion per month. Now they are getting 250. They have recreation centers so they can relax with their peers. They have low and no income homes. There are people visiting them to take care of them, all compliment the ULP…and i can go on and on

    You are just mad beause you guys sooo hoped to win the election and you LOST…stop acting like a sore losers nah..stop frustratiing the police nah….stop acting like brats nah..grow to hell up nah and try to come again next 5 years.

    Am sorry to hear about the death threats but try not to piss so many people off nah then maybe the will tolerate you a little bit.

    Again I dont know where you presently reside but I invite you to lovely St Vincent where the sensible ones among us are all about developing this country…..

    Reply

    • Posted by Vincent Charles on March 19, 2011 at 1:18 pm

      Let me counter and contextualize some of your claims…

      1. If you go by GDP per capita, ST. VIncent is currently the poorest country in the OECS, even Dominica has overtaken us, WHICH WAS NOT SO IN YEARS PAST. The only Caribbean countries more impoverished are Suriname, Guyana, Haiti etc, COUNTRIES WHICH HAVE ALWAYS BEEN POORER THAN SVG, ULP OR NDP… My figures are extracted from the IMF List of countries by GDP (PPP) per capita, yours from where?

      2. In SVG as you my learned friend knows, the state is the largest employer and contractor. Anyone whom the government employs, or who depend on the state for services, daring to dissent is targeted.. Aneisha Baptitise was castigated, NDP supporters denied Tomas relief, and I can go on and on… The operations of Bigger Bigs humbugged, Dougie Defreitas being subject to foreday morning raids.. Shelly Calrke disparaged.. etc.. The senators comments are justified.

      3. Taxes (vat, duties, license, house and land taxes etc), bills and prices of goods and services have skyrocketed and I am not convinced that salaries or poor relief are sufficiently reflective of the high cost of living in SVG.

      4. These localized, online and distance services were simply nonexistent in SVG AND ST LUCCIA, GRENADA, DOMINICA ETC… at the time of the NDP…. You proudly brandish the 400 figure, and I commend it highly, but how many St. Lucians etc. have benefited from the same facilities, and at the exact same period? These programs were launched simultaneously in several Caribbean countries, am sorry my dear, they did not spring from Ralph’s GIRTH…

      5. These recreational centers are fantastic, strategic facilities; I wish one was within my vicinity; the loan policies are also sound, although the leniency was abused. I hope that they do not disappear with the privatization of the bank. The ULP have some achievements under its belt, but not nearly enough in my opinion…..

      Reply

      • Posted by me on March 21, 2011 at 12:26 pm

        Vincent have a damn back bone and be man enough to defend your country nah? My goodness. You guys want to manage this country and cant even show some level of national pride? Shame on you. What Vynette is sayibg is down right wrong and a lie. Forget about NDP or ULP for a second and defend your country. I cant believe you

      • Posted by Vincent Charles on March 21, 2011 at 11:14 pm

        You “me” fallaciously claim that SVG was the poorest country second only to Haiti during the NDP. What are you doing? Not disparaging your country, especially in light of the falsity of your claims? You accuse the Senator for doing something you are doing yourself, making willfully wild and knowingly untrue statements about your country; all in an effort to score partisan points. Again, countries such as Guyana and Dominica have always been poorer. There is MUCH truth in the statements; however there is also a certain degree of hyperbole. The bright Senator ought not to have been so literary in her writing.

Leave a Reply

